My third year now to watch and cover the British Historic Racing Series along with the VMCC Ltd. This all started in 2012 as part of a Uni project showing motion within motorsport. We see all too often the stock image taken in excess of 1/500th of a second which simply makes bikes and cars, on a track, stationary. It was my intention to push the boundaries and see just how slow you could take a shutter speed and still have a usable image. I managed down to 1/80th with some serious panning practice following the bikes as they shot past my position. Many images were simply unusable yet I left with a modest yet usable few hundred images.

The following year, 2013, I simply returned for the fun of it. The whole weekend simple reminded me of my youth, up to my elbows in grease followed by the smell of a 2 stroke engine whirring away as I proudly rode about. The whole meeting is extremely relaxed and friendly. There’s non of the ignorance or shoving found at major motorsport events, the riders are all accessible too and many will happily chat about their race machinery. Having collected another nice set of images and indeed taken specifically requested images for a couple of racers I decided to return this year.

This year was rather strange. As I set up on my usual corner a couple of riders nodded to me as they rode past in free practice. I’m then visited by riders asking for my website name and when will my images be up and ready for sale. Everyone is like, hey good to see you again and glad your back. The glad to see me reference is clearly directed at my quality images opposed to the official photographers somewhat mediocre stuff. You see him pottering about all day, trying to look important, yet not taking many images. A ‘Pro’ who was there covering for certain magazines stopped for a chat when he saw me and was extremely pleasant and complimentary about my imagery quality and consistency. Sadly he had a slight reach advantage over me with his 1DX and 400mm f/2.8 thus giving him far more flexibility around the circuit for imagery and his access all areas also gave hime some exclusive positioning for the mountain section. Sadly this area is double fenced from the spectator side and negates the ultimate airborne image over the brow of the hill. Oh well something to potentially go for in the future.

I decided to make the galleries live after the website requests and have so far had several hits along with a few sales from what is essentially the hobby side of my work. This is now something that in 2016 I will be attending more, amateur/club racing, on any weekend I have off. Going by the diary so far this won’t be too many but I know the ones I do attend will be fun.

Regarding my excellent consistency and quality mentioned by the fellow Pro here is a screen shot of the gallery. Literally 1400 images on the same bend, over 2 days, involving every competitor at least twice with some several times. The processing is no hassle with actions set up to bulk process once I’ve corrected lens distortion and tweaked the odd setting. Some don’t make the grade as I still enjoy getting creative with shutter speeds and whilst these may look ‘arty’ they would be unlikely to sell.

BHR VMCC Gallery Image

Leave a Reply

