Bad news leads to opportunity.

Posted: June 24, 2014 in Uncategorized

With the news that my wife’s health issues are far more serious than initially thought, the fact that her operation was cut short only put her out for a few days and not the weeks expected. We had already decided that I would be leaving her alone on Sunday to cover the Kingston League Trampoline Series as this is normally no longer than 6 hours in total. I had however been planning to cover the ‘Let’s Rock Leeds’ festival at Temple Newsam on behalf of Absolute 80’s Radio. With my wife’s impending series of planned operations I almost declined this superb opportunity as it was a full day away and I couldn’t risk leaving her alone so soon. With the change in circumstances I popped an email back to the Absolute Radio contact and I was back in.

The full day was from 9am to near midnight with acts on from 11am. A rather nice cross selection of pop icons from the 80’s were playing and with my AAA access I also got to meet them and have a chat. Rules surrounding the images I took were of the expected criteria with only ‘Bananarama’ banning publication of any individual full framed shots of either member. Sold some images to one singer and got a flat fee for the remaining stock shots. Believe me when I say there’s not much money in gig work unless you can sell the images to the bands/performers on an individual basis.

With the sun not setting until very late some creative exposure techniques were used to enhance lighting effect on stage but I found this experimentation a good learning experience for any future events. The contact at Absolute 80’s was delighted with the pre edited images and the festival organiser thanked me for my professionalism throughout the day and looked forward to working together again.

This was one of the last images from the day which I took from the sound/lighting gantry once the sun had just about set.

Image

One of my favourite images from the day. Full on energy by the lead singer of ‘Then Jerico’ with the ‘Lets Rock’ displayed on the big screen. I tried to capture this image with several of the acts yet sadly it was a rolling display of images which quickly changed. Mark Shaw, by total luck, just got this right 😉

Image

To complete a busy weekend I covered another Kingston League Trampoline Series event. My daughter took part also and came away with a 3rd place in the 11&U category. As she is only 8 she has the potential to dominate by the time she reaches 11.

Image

Now for a quiet week editing all this work 🙂

Leave a Reply

