Last Shoot for 2 weeks.

Posted: June 16, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

This shoot had been in the balance since my wife’s operation was delayed but, as luck would have it, it was delayed until tomorrow so smiles all round.

Held at Holy Trinity Church in the town centre this was a shoot involving 5 wedding dresses and one ladies wedding suit all designed by the very talented Becky Adamson, a Year 3 Fashion Designer at the Hull School of Art and Design (HSAD). The awesome interior of the church afforded the quality background these outfits deserved and the shoot was a resounding success. I simply used a single key light for the dresses with a secondary light behind the altar. The secondary light illuminated the very large space between the altar and the rear main window / wall which was simply too dark without it. I had taken a Bowens Portable Travelpak but the extremely kind church warden provided 240v power via extension leads which made life a little easier. I have used the Bowens Travelpak on several occasions at weddings and they are indeed superb with my Gemini 750Pro’s with just the one downside in that they do not power the modelling bulb (for obvious reasons) which does help when setting up your lighting. With 240v at my disposal this minor distraction was not present.

Here is why I decided to go with a fill light. The first image is lacking in depth and looks dark to the rear. By adding the fill light I was able to ignite the rear of the image into colour. With some minor tweaking on light balance before starting the final images look great.

Image

The final image of the day was all the models along with Becky. They just sat on the altar steps and I took the image….lovely 🙂

Image

A 2 week minimum break now as I’ll be nursing my wife after her triple operation tomorrow so don’t think I’ve disappeared. I am being nagged to shoot a festival this weekend but that will depend on my wife’s state of health.

Leave a Reply

