Portrait Image

Posted: December 10, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Good to his word my new, and hopefully not brief, association with Toby Jepson provided me with my studio image yesterday. Took out my Bowens studio lighting to the venue and set up facing against a suitably shabby worn wall. Being on my own I used myself to meter exposure against the wall. This drew a few amused smiles though once I was happy with the settings, let Toby know I was ready. Toby went through most of the “stock” rock guitarist/frontman poses I have seen over the years in various magazines and on posters. I would take 3 or 4 slightly different images in the same pose and then show him for approval or what he or I thought could be changed/improved. One thing, there was not was a smile or if there was it’ll never see the light of day on here. Seems he’s not too keen on his smile being photographed which is sad a this fella has a thousand stories, which make everyone laugh, including himself. Took about 10 minutes from start to finish and I ended up with 20 images. Some were free standing, some leaning and some seated on two cases. The seated had to be used as we needed to include a ‘Prop’ in the final submitted image.  The equipment boxes he is sat on I had simply borrowed from the venue. Ask politely and it reaps rewards. So the final submitted image for my studio module.

Shot using studio flash with umbrella at a height of roughly 8 feet, 85mm, 1/125th, f/5.6 & ISO 100.

Tobe-2

My favourite from the shoot was this one below. Showing his sleeve tattoo which even though not quite finished says so much about him and his life to date. Wonderful listening to what the different aspects of it meant to him on a personal level. Simple pose yet an image with so much to say about him.

Edit (20/7/15) – Decided to replace the first edit version with this one. Never really liked the cropped version so here is the original in it’s full aspect glory.

_MGL1789 Toby J

    Edit – February 2014 – I have messaged Toby with my result for the module and hope, one day, he see’s my public appreciation on here. Only, LMFAO, got myself a ‘Distinction’ for the module. So not only 2 great days with a truly nice gent but images worthy of a distinction. A massive thanks Tobe and just the book to sign, if you please.

I would also like to publicly acknowledge the access and insight both Dave Kemp and Nigel Crooks gave me too 😉

Leave a Reply

